Artists & Writers for Fair Tax launches with Jeff Tweedy, Neko Case, Twin Peaks, Whitney and many more

More than 80 musicians, authors, filmmakers and other visual and performing artists have come together as Artists & Writers for Fair Tax in support of the Fair Tax constitutional amendment in Illinois.

The growing list includes Jeff Tweedy (Wilco), Neko Case, Twin Peaks, Whitney, 40th Ward Alderman Andre Vasquez (formerly known as Prime, a member of the hip-hop collective the Molemen), Ohmme, Makaya McCraven, Eleventh Dream Day and members of Tortoise, as well as authors Jessica Hopper, Greg Kot and Jim DeRogatis and poet Jose Olivarez (scroll down for full list).

The artists and writers will use their social media platforms between now and Election Day to educate fans and followers about the importance of voting Yes for the Fair Tax amendment that will appear at the top of every Illinois voter’s ballot this fall. Using the hashtag #ArtistsForFairTax, today they’re sharing a social graphic created for the campaign by rock poster artist Jay Ryan:

With the Fair Tax amendment:

  • Everyone who makes less than $250,000 a year will get a tax cut;
  • The top 3% wealthiest people will begin to pay their fair share on income over a quarter-million dollars a year; and
  • The state will raise $3 billion a year that can pay for critical needs like better schools, health care and jobs in every community.

“Like all working people, artists and performers are struggling right now, and the Fair Tax amendment is needed more than ever to set things right,” Vote Yes for Fair Tax committee director Sam Tuttle said. “We can fairly tax wealthy people, cut working people a break and raise revenue for the things our communities need and creative people care about. We’re thrilled that so many influential artists are using their voices to make sure every voter knows the facts and is ready to Vote Yes.”

Full list of Artists & Writers for Fair Tax (always growing!)

MUSIC: Jeff Tweedy (Wilco), Neko Case, Twin Peaks, Whitney, 40th Ward Alderman Andre Vasquez (fka MC Prime), Spencer Tweedy, Ohmme (Sima Cunningham & Macie Stewart), Makaya McCraven, Doug McCombs (Tortoise, Brokeback, Eleventh Dream Day), Rick Rizzo (Eleventh Dream Day), Janet Bean (Freakwater, Eleventh Dream Day), Jon Langford (Mekons, Waco Brothers), Sally Timms (Mekons), Dean Schlabowske (Waco Brothers), Tim Midyett (Silkworm, Bottomless Pit, Mint Mile), Bethany Thomas, Melkbelly, James Elkington, Ben Lamar Gay, Nora O’Connor, David Singer, Quin Kirchner, Will Miller (Resavoir), Steve Dawson & Diane Christiansen (Dolly Varden), Ayanna Woods, Rachel Drew, Gerald Dowd, Mike Reed, Jonas Friddle, Anna Jacobson, Jason McInnes, Jordan Martins, Kirstin Osgood (CHIMP)

RECORD LABELS: Bloodshot Records, International Anthem

FILM: Gordon Quinn (Kartemquin Films), Bob Hercules (“Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise”)

COMEDY: Mike Oquendo

AUTHORS: Jessica Hopper (“The First Collection of Criticism by a Living Female Rock Critic”), Greg Kot (“I’ll Take You There: Mavis Staples, the Staple Singers and the March up Freedom’s Highway”), Jim DeRogatis (“Soulless: The R Kelly Story”), Jose Olivarez (“Citizen Illegal”), Kathleen Rooney (“Lillian Boxfish Takes A Walk”), Celia C. Perez (“The First Rule of Punk”), Megan Stielstra (“The Wrong Way to Save Your Life”), Joe Meno (“Between Everything and Nothing”), Claire Zulkey, Tony Adler, Martha Bayne (“The Chicago Neighborhood Guidebook”, ed.), Billy Lombardo (“Morning Will Come”), Bayo Ojikutu (“Free Burning”), S.L. Wisenberg (“The Adventures of Cancer Bitch”), Kim Brooks (“Small Animals: Parenthood in the Age of Fear”), Mary Hawley (“Double Tongues”), Mary Anne Mohanraj (“The Stars Change”), Susanna Lang (“Travel Notes from the River Styx”), Janet Burroway (“Writing Fiction: A Guide to Narrative Craft”), Ruth Goring (“Picturing God”), Aaron Cohen (“Move On Up: Chicago Soul Music And Black Cultural Power”), Elaine Soloway (“The Division Street Princess”), Eileen Favorite (“The Heroines”), Maggie Kast (“Side by Side but Never Face to Face”), Carol L. Gloor (“Falling Back”), Arnie Bernstein (“Swastika Nation”), Sharon Bloyd-Peshkin (“Curating Culture”, ed.), Kay Heikkinen (translator: Radwa Ashour’s “The Woman from Tantoura”), Dave Roth (Esthetic Lens magazine), Kimberly Dixon-Mays, Andrea Change (Executive Director, Guild Literary Complex)

VISUAL ARTISTS: Jay Ryan, Jason Pickleman, Marzena Abrahamik, Lynn Basa, Chad Kouri, Mary Livoni, Joerg Metzner, Jessica Pierotti, Jordan Schulman, Emily Thornton Calvo, Ann Tyler, Vincent Uribe